Top 5 Albums Released March 11: All Songs Considered : NPR


The latest release from Rex Orange County, WE DO NOT CARE?is on NPR Music’s shortlist for top albums released on March 11.

Alexandra Waespi/Courtesy of the artist

hide caption

toggle caption

Alexandra Waespi/Courtesy of the artist

English artist Alexander James O’Connor, who writes and records as Rex Orange County, is back this week with an album he wrote and recorded in 12 days with Dutch producer Benny Sings. The curiously titled WE DO NOT CARE? look beyond the pandemic of the past two years and imagine a world where life is a little looser and more carefree. On this week’s show we listen to WE DO NOT CARE? and talk about Rex Orange County’s gift for lyricism, his songwriting talent, and why “keep it up” became his mantra while making the album.

We also have rare recordings by New Orleans soul singer Irma Thomas, the immediately piercing Go away PE of Orion Sun, rapper Fly Anakin and many more. WBEZ and Vocalo Radio’s Ayana Contreras joins WXPN’s John Morrison, NPR Music’s Stephen Thompson and host Robin Hilton as they share their picks for best new albums on March 11.

Featured Albums:

  1. Sun of Orion — Go away
    Featured tracks: “intro” and “without you”
  2. Orange Rex County — WE DO NOT CARE?
    Featured Tracks: “SHOOT ME DOWN” and “KEEP IT UP”
  3. Stealing Anakin— Franc
    Featured Tracks: “Love Song (Come Back)” and “Bread”
  4. Jenny Hval — classic objects
    Featured Track: “Graveyard of Splendor”
  5. Irma Thomas— Full Time Wife, The Lost Cotillion Album (on vinyl)
    Featured Track: “Adam and Eve”

Other notable releases for March 11:

  • Alex Cameron— Oxy Music
  • Benny the Butcher — Tana talk 4
  • The Boo Radleys – keep on falling
  • BOY — Echoes like memories
  • Drug Church — Hygiene
  • Fatboi Sharif & LoneSword — Cyber ​​City Society
  • Buckle – Sonancy
  • Lucky Day— CANDYDRIP


About Author

Comments are closed.